Reporting the Regions

Posted: November 27, 2016 in Uncategorized

Sometimes people research history. Sometimes people discover what has already been written. Sometimes people are responsible for writing history, and only discover later the significance of what they have written.

Over two decades between 1973 and 1993 I worked as a journalist around regional Western Australia, and for whatever reason, took the time to keep the clippings of many of my stories. When I looked back on these stories I realised that they represented a significant re-telling of history. At the time many of them didn’t seem all that interesting, but on reflection I realised each one contributed to an understanding of what has happening at the time.

Martin Luther King Jr. once said: “We are not makers of history, we are made by history.” I have had the privilege of being able to record history over a period of time, and I realise that some of the stories represent experiences that helped to make me the person that I am today. There is great value in reflecting on the past and learning from the past. There can be great disappointment when we fail to learn from the past.

In doing this exercise I have recognised the importance of thanking God for the journey he has taken me on through my life and in that journey, teaching me, moulding me and preparing me to be the person he wanted me to be. I am still learning, still being moulded, and still in preparation, but I have a deep assurance that God is with me, guiding me all the way.

Leave a Reply

